Chapter Two: At Home with the Pigeon

CHAPTER TWO: AT HOME WITH THE PIGEON

Well, needless to say, I now have a pigeon living in my house. I brought him home and gave him corn and wild bird seed and he’s put weight back on and has built strength.

I call him “Little Pigey.”  He flies around the house, and lands on my head. When I’m ready to go to bed, sometimes he’ll get back in his cage when I ask him to. Other times I have to pick him up and set him in there. I think he actually likes being held – hard to believe for a pigeon!

After doing some research, I discovered he’s an American Roller pigeon. They got their name because when they fly, they tumble.

The bird and I, we’ve become pretty good friends. But he doesn’t belong in a small cage and my wife is furious with me for having a pigeon in the house. And I’m sure he has important things to do back where he came from. And someone must be heartbroken!

I’ve been online searching for people in the area who raise pigeons.  I took an ad out in the Ukiah paper, put it on Craigslist and posted his picture all over Redwood Valley in hopes of finding his owner. I’m not sure how much longer my wife will put up with the two of us.

4 thoughts on “Chapter Two: At Home with the Pigeon

Leave a Reply

