Chapter Two: A Positive Turn for the Kid

The other day Lyle called and told me he’d had an argument with his grandmother and slammed the door as he stormed out of the house. When his mom came home he started complaining to her, and she said, “Let’s go for a ride so we can talk.”  

He said, “I wanted to just scream at her, but then I remembered some of the things you’ve told me. Like, ‘Before you say or doing anything ask yourself what will be the worst outcome from my actions, and if you’re not 100% happy with it, then don’t say it or do it.’ I decided I didn’t want to have a fight with her as that would just create even more problems and that is not what I needed. By being calm I was able to understand where she was coming from and things worked out ok.”

While we were having coffee recently, Lyle told me he used to get up in the morning and jog. He said that kept his mind on something positive and gave him a goal to improve on. I looked down and saw that his shoes were not the kind of shoes you could run in.  I thought  to myself, I’d like to buy him a pair of shoes to get him back running, but figured I better give it a little more time to see how he responds to the advice I have given him.

If I continue to see progress, I will help him get a pair of running shoes through the Ledson Harmony Foundation to see if he can get back to a daily exercise program. That will keep him moving in a more upbeat and focused direction.

I figure there must be a reason why I met him. There’s something positive in this kid, and I hope I can help bring it out.

As my father used to say, “I know there’s a pony in there somewhere.”

Leave a Reply

