Chapter Three: It’s all about perception

As you know, I’ve been working with a young man I met when some buddies of his were vandalizing my property at one of my construction sites. He asked me for a job, and after giving it a lot of thought,  I decided to give him an opportunity and see where it goes.

Lyle is working in my vineyards after school and on the weekends, picking up brush and stuff. I’m also having him do some work at Ledson Hotel, so he can get a broader scope of experience. He does what you ask him to do, he’s a very nice kid, but I’m seeing that he’s not as focused as he should be at this point in his life. Therefore, it takes him longer to get things done. I really believe it comes down to his outlook on things – it’s all about his perception on life. 

You know, I’ve learned that perception really is the key to your life. How you envision everything that happens in front of you, or how you perceive what you think someone is saying, determines how you react and those reactions determine your life. And that’s what I’m working on with Lyle, trying to get him to visualize things differently than what he sees on the surface.

This isn’t something you learn overnight, but by practicing the philosophy over and over again. So when I spend time with him, I try to point out little things that he can look at differently. Like, this isn’t a job, it’s an opportunity. And with every opportunity comes the possibility that you can take the task at hand above and beyond what is being asked of you. I really believe that perception is often the difference between success and failure.

One thought on “Chapter Three: It’s all about perception

Leave a Reply

